Welcome To Travis Napolean Smith.com

I'm glad that you have stopped by. This website is a dedication to my life's accomplishments and my visions of my career. I have now completed my long college career. This career began at Hartwick College in Computer Science and ended in May 2007 at Plattsburgh State University in Television Production, minoring in English. I've been through many changes over these last several years which have shaped and molded me into a very robust man.

What Will You Find Here?

You'll find here at Travis Napolean Smith.com is an in-depth into what I have accomplished over my lifetime. You will find my résumé, references, audio and video demos; projects I've worked on and projects that I'm currently working on. Clubs and organizations I have been in or currently in and many more. In fact you will probably find more information here than you can possibly want.

Your're probably wondering why would I put all of this information on the internet. Well, I believe that as a person interested in what I can do for you, you will want to know what I have done and more importantly what I can do for you. That is a key in the way I work. What can I do for you?

NEWS - 02/06/2010 - Protection Layer Completed

Saturday, February 6, 2010 - Travis Napolean Smith has released Tier 3 - Protection Layer for the upcoming One Solution CMS Version 2. With this layer completed their are now only 3 Tiers left for the completion of Version 2 of One Solution CMS.

The road map for Version 2 is releasing Tier 4 - Authentication Layer between February 2010 and early March 2010; Tier 5 - Validation Layer between March 2010 and early April 2010; Tier 6 - Content Layer between April 2010 and early May 2010; Tier 7 - Behavioral Layer and Tier 8 - Presentation Layers are unique for each theme being used. I will have a default theme created and released; More->

NEWS - 01/09/2010 - Protection Layer Coming Soon!

Saturday, January 9, 2010 - In the next few weeks, Travis Napolean Smith will be releasing Tier 3 - Protection Layer for the upcoming One Solution Version 2. The final beta testing is near completion, documentation at this point like the Tier 2 - Database Layer is sparse. I am promising documentation for these two tiers very soon. A lot of the Tiers that are being released, developers will have to look at the objects themselves to find out how they work.

When Version 2 of One Solution is released to the general public, it will have full documentation. The road map for Version 2 is releasing Tier 3 - Protection Layer between January 2010 and mid. February 2010; More->

NEWS - 01/02/2010 - New Year - New Goals

Saturday, January 2, 2010 - With a New Year and a new decade upon us, I have established new goals for 2010. Some of these goals are carear based and some are personal enrichment. My goals for 2010 are getting a job in the Television Industry, getting One-Solution 2.0 out the door, getting my CompTia Network+, Zend PHP 5, CompTia Linux+ and Security+ Certifications, and getting an application for Facebook out the door.

My largest goal for 2010 is getting a job in the Television Industry. I have been working on this goal since I graduated in Spring 2007 from Plattsburgh State. I have had many positive leads and many false starts but their comes a time when the hardwork will pay off. I want 2010 to be the year to get into the industry. I said this last year and didn't happen. I had a few good leads and followed up on them but just didn't happen! More->

NEWS - 11/21/2009 - WordPress Theme Completed!

Saturday, November 21, 2009 - Over the last several months, I have been working on a new theme for Travis Napolean Smith - Life 2.0 Blog, The Professional Life of Travis Napolean Smith. This theme is now done and is live. This is a major accomplishment.

The theme is my first WordPress theme. I learned a lot about the inner workings of WordPress. I will tweak this theme over time but it is a really strong theme. Have a look around. Let me know what you think about this new theme. More->

NEWS - 11/05/2009 - CompTia A+ Certified

Thursday, November 5, 2009 - Travis Napolean Smith took and passed CompTia A+ IT Technician exam. By passing this exam - 220-602 along with passing the 220-601, I am now CompTia A+ Certified. This is a major accomplishment.

I am very happy with the results. CompTia A+ certification will help in getting a technician's position with most computer repair shops. It will also help me get into technician's positions at television stations. But this is only the beginning of certifications. I have other certifications that I wish to seek in the next year. More->

NEWS - 10/18/2009 - Returned From Alumni Weekend!

Sunday, October 18, 2009 - I have returned from Alumni Weekend! Over the course of the weekend I attended many sporting events and meet old friends. I really didn't meet many new ones this year but one cannot have everything.

What I learned over this weekend is that many of my fellow Class of 2007 Alumni have been having trouble finding work. Some have been layed off, some went back to school to get into another field. I didn't expect to see some of them having a hard time trying to enter the work force. I thought it would have been a few but I was wrong. Now I know why I have been having a hard time getting into Television Production. I had a great weekend and it was great to see old friends one more time. More->

NEWS - 10/15/2009 - Alumni Weekend Events Attending

Thursday, October 15, 2009 - After long consideration of the long list of events that are scheduled for this weekend I have created a listing of events I will be attending over this weekend.

Friday: 6 P.M - Men's Soccer vs Buffalo State and 9 P.M - Fireworks - Memorial Hall.

Saturday: 2 P.M - Men's Soccer vs Fredonia, 4 P.M - Men's Basketball vs York-Ontario (Exhibition Game) and 7 P.M - Men's Hockey vs Concordia-Montreal (Exhibition Game).

See you all this weekend! More->

NEWS - 10/15/2009 - Alumni Weekend 2009

Thursday, October 15, 2009 - Travis Napolean Smith has checked into the Econo Lodge in Plattsburgh for Alumni Weekend. I am here for the entire weekend. I expect to meet new people and reconnect with old friends. This weekend will be a weekend to remember.

I will be posting my plans for this weekend by the end of the night. Hope to see everyone this weekend. If you need to get a hold of me, contact my cell phone - 518-578-6217. More->

NEWS - 10/03/2009 - Computer Certification Roadmap Published

Saturday, October 3, 2009 - After completion of CompTia A+ Certification, I have further certifications that I wish to attain. I plan to take in the Spring 2010 my CompTia Network+ Certification and Zend PHP5 Certification.

I plan to get both certifications on the same day or near each other, if possible. This will assist in getting a web development or a web master job! After these two certifications, I then will get ready for CompTia Linux+ and CompTia Security+ Certifications for late summer, early fall 2010. These will continue the trend to get into web development or a web master job or at least an entry level as a computer technician. When all of these certifications are completed I will have a very round basis to begin vendor specific certifications such as Cisco. The future is bright as I continue to build my portfolio for entry into a future job market. More->

NEWS - 10/01/2009 - Passed CompTia A+ Essentials

Thursday, October 1, 2009 - Travis Napolean Smith took and passed CompTia A+ Essentials exam. This is the first part of becoming CompTia A+ Certified.

I am very happy with this and glad I have complete the first part of the exam and passed. I have scheduled the date for the 2nd part of the exam, the CompTia A+ IT Technicians exam, for Thursday November 5, 2009. I am currently getting ready for the second part of this exam. I will find out after the exam if I get my CompTia A+ Certification. This certification will help in getting a technician's position with most computer repair shops. It will also help me get into technician's positions at television stations. I am planning to complete this certification, then get ready for my CompTia Network+ Certification. I plan this to be completed by April or May 2010. More->

NEWS - 09/22/2009 - WordPress Theme In The Works!

Tuesday, September 22, 2009 - TravisNapoleanSmith.com has been working on a new theme for his WordPress Blog - Life 2.0. The new theme is still being worked on but I can tell you that it will have a very slick, glossy look and feel to it. This kind of theme has been somewhat of a challenge to get CSS to do what I want it to do. But I have been working very diligently at getting this out the door before Alumni Weekend.

I plan to have it mostly complete within a week, but I won't put it live until I make sure that their are no major issues with the theme. This theme will not be constrained by Internet Explorer 6. I will look at the theme in IE 6 but it may not look the way it should. I have been following a growing trend to abandon IE 6 support. Expect more news in the next few weeks! More->

NEWS - 09/15/2009 - One Solution Database Object Updated

Tuesday, September 15, 2009 - Travis Napolean Smith officially released an update to the Database Object for his upcoming One Solution Content Management System.

The updated fixed a major limitation to the database object. The database object can now read fields and content that contain the value 0. In the old object, these values would be skipped. This problem has been corrected.

With this release, Tier 2 should be completed out of 8. Expect Tier 3 - Protection Layer to be available soon. Sorry about the inconvenience the bug may have caused. More->

NEWS - 09/08/2009 - One Solution Database Object Released

Tuesday, September 8, 2009 - Travis Napolean Smith officially released the Database Object for his upcoming One Solution Content Management System.

This is a great achievement and will only be a sign of things to come. The official documentation is still being complied but it is available for the general public to view. It can be viewed at documentation.onesolutioncms.com. More->

NEWS - 08/30/2009 - One Solution Database Object Nears Release

Sunday, August 30, 2009 - In the next few days, Travis Napolean Smith will be releasing the Database Object. The Database Object is Tier 2 - Database Access Layer from One Solution Version 2 to the general public. The final beta testing is near completion and the documentation almost ready for the final release. Once the Database Object is released, other objects will soon follow. I also have set an arbitrary date for the One Solution Version 2 - October 22, 2009.

For more information about One Solution and it's 8-Tier approach or documentation please visit the One Solution CMS website http://www.OneSolutionCMS.com. More->

NEWS - 08/30/2009 - Attending Homecoming 2009

Sunday, August 30, 2009 - I made plans to attend Homecoming 2009 at Plattsburgh State. I will be attending the annual PSU Homecoming scheduled for October 16 and October 17. I will be their on October 15 a day earlier to talk with current professors at the Communication Department. I hope to meet-up with old friends and colleagues and hope to meet new ones as well. The future is bright as I continue to look for my first job in the industry. Hopefully this will be the weekend to remember. See you all their! For more information about the all events see the Plattsburgh Alumni Webpage at http://www.plattsburgh.edu/alumni/homecoming/events.php. More->

NEWS - 08/03/2009 - One Solution Nears Version 2 Release

Monday, August 3, 2009 - In the next few days, Travis Napolean Smith will be releasing parts of the new One Solution Version 2 content management system. The parts that are expected to be released are the Database Object, the XHTML Header Object, and the XHTML Flash Object. These will be in the final release of Version 2 of One Solution. Documentation is expected to be released soon afterwords. The final release is expected to be by the end of summer 2009. I have not officially set the date for the full release of version 2. More->

NEWS - 07/22/2009 - Adirondack Pull Using Custom CMS

Wednesday, July 22, 2009 - Over the past several months, Travis Napolean Smith has been working in the background on a new CMS for TravisNapoleanSmith.com. While under development the web master from AdirondackPull.com, Kyle Coryea asked if he could use parts of my CMS for his site. I agreed and have released the parts that were requested for the ATPA 2009 season. The site is currently waiting for a domain transfer but it should be live by July 24th. The website can be found at http://www.adirondackpull.com. More->

NEWS - 07/22/2009 - Travis Napolean Smith Gets Ready For A+

Wednesday, July 22, 2009 - Over the last several weeks, I have been getting ready for my upcoming A+ certification. This certification is from CompTIA and certifies that I can service and repair computers. This will be a great step forward. I go for my certification in the middle of August. I haven't set the date yet for the exam. I plans on taking this exam in two parts. The first part of the exam will be in August and it will be the 601 or Essentials part. The second part of the exam will be in October and it will be the 602 the IT Technicians part. I should be certified soon. More->

NEWS - 03/16/2009 - Podcast On Hiatus!

Monday, March 16, 2009 - Over the last several months, TravisNapoleanSmith.com has been announcing an upcoming monthly podcast. On Monday, March 16, 2009 - TravisNapoleanSmith.com is announcing the podcast is on hiatus meaning that we are not producing this podcast right now; We don't see the status of this changing anytime soon. TravisNapoleanSmith.com is going thru a major overhaul of it's content and cannot produce right now a podcast. We know this may upset some but it is still going to happen just not right now.

Thank You,

Travis Napolean Smith More->

NEWS - 01/29/2009 - Podcast Format Released!

Wednesday, January 28, 2009 - TravisNapoleanSmith.com has released the format for it's upcoming podcast. The new podcast, Life 2.0 - The Professional Podcast of Travis Napolean Smith, will feature a monthly, 5 minute incite into new skills, new future prospects, and new marketing strategy for Travis Napolean Smith. Each month will also feature a segment about one of my fields I am interested in.

Expect the first podcast to be released during the first week of February. Each new episode will be released during the first week of each month. So stay tuned for more information as it becomes available. More->

NEWS - 01/22/2009 - Travis Napolean Smith - Creates New Focus

Thursday, January 22, 2009 - With a new career focus in Web Design / Web Developing, I am now going to have to create a new résumé and change my cover letters to meet this new focus. I am now putting together several job applications in this field and soon will be adding a new section on TravisNapoleanSmith.com under Web Master Experiences. I have been collecting the information necessary for this to happen. The problem has been remember what I have done in this field over the last 13 years of my life.

With a new career focus the future is bright even though times are not for many. I am looking forward to this new focus as well as developing new skills in Web Design / Web Developing. Hoping to land a new job in this field soon. More->

NEWS - 01/21/2009 - Travis Napolean Smith Shifting Focus

Wednesday, January 21, 2009 - Over the last several weeks, I have been debating whether or not to shift my job search focus from Television Production to Web Design / Web Developing. On Wednesday, January 21, 2009, I have made my decision. I am going to shift my job search focus to Web Design / Web Developing.

Stay tuned for more details about this focus shift as I will make another post very soon with all the details! More->

NEWS - 10/20/2008 - Returned From Alumni Weekend!

Monday, October 20, 2008 - Sunday night, early Monday morning, I have returned from Plattsburgh for Alumni Weekend. This weekend was a little bit less of a crowd than I have seen in the past but that is due to the current state of the economy. I did meet up with old friends, and fellow alumni. I enjoyed the many stories that I shared with them and heard many stories from them as well. I found out that the job market is not very good right now but that was expected. That is not good news for job hunters like myself. I did meet with a fare amount of people, wish I could have meet more but most of the weekend was spend looking around the Plattsburgh area. I enjoyed that just as much as spending time with people. I hope the future is bright for all of us as the Christmas season is coming upon us. More->

NEWS - 10/15/2008 - Ready To Go To The Burgh!

Wednesday, October 15, 2008 - Thursday, October 16 I will be heading up to Plattsburgh for Alumni Weekend. I will be staying at the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites. I will be attending Comminication Nation Lunch at Perkins at 12 P.M on Saturday! I hope to meet many of my fellow alumni. I am also going to be going to the Men's Hockey game on Saturday Night. Catch me their as well. If one needs to get a hold of me I am available on my cell at 518-578-6217 just in case you don't have that number. I have many other plans for this weekend and will meet as many people as possible!

See you all this weekend! More->

NEWS - 10/15/2008 - TravisNapoleanSmith.com Is Live!

Wednesday, October 15, 2008 - I have put in place my new Content Management System. This new system will allow me to update content even more frequently and even add new features to the site. One of the new features that one will see is the addition of a Blog section.

This blog section will be an inside look at what I think and what I am working on. It will be a diary of my activities which many employers will find interesting. I am always working on something and I am always learning something new which an employer can really use. Have a look, it is under the Projects tab at the top of the screen. More->

NEWS - 9/30/2008 - Attending Homecoming 2008 - "Aloha" At PSU

Tuesday, September 30, 2008 - I made reservations for Homecoming 2008. I will be attending the annual PSU Homecoming scheduled for October 17 til October 19. I will be their on October 16 a day earlier to talk with current professors at the Communication Department. I hope to meetup with old friends and colleagues and hope to meet new ones as well. The future is bright as I continue to look for my first job in the industry. Hopefully this will be the weekend to remember. See you all their!

For more information about the all events see the Plattsburgh Alumni Webpage at http://web.plattsburgh.edu/alumni/. More->

NEWS - 8/21/2008 - Going For CompTIA A+ Certification

Over the last several weeks I have been debating whether to go for A+ Certification. On August 21, 2008 I decided that it would be helpful to have this certication as I can always get into IT with it. I have been out of school for over a year and haven't found a job yet in Television Production so going with an IT certication such as A+ I can always use this to either get into Televsion Production or go into IT. My plans are to get A+ then work on Networking+ afterward. I will post details further as needed. More->

NEWS - 5/12/2007 - Receives BA Degree From Plattsburgh State

On Saturday May 12, 2007 I received my BA from Plattsburgh State Univesity. This was a long time coming and very well received. I started college in Sepember 1998 at Hartwick College, majoring in Computer Science but after 3 years I changed my mind and went to Plattsburgh State. After a few years off, I continued my degree and have now complete my degree majoring in Television Video Production, minoring in English. Now I can continue with my lifes dream of working in Television with this new degree. As an Alumni, the future is bright! More->

NEWS - Cardinal Basketball

Cardinal Basketball is one of the longest running show on Plattsburgh State Television. As the producer for 2006-2007 season I've added some new features to the program. First is instant replay. Second is clock cam, a camera that shows the game clock inside the score graphic. Third is a 5 minute pre-game show, it runs just before the player introduction. Check out and download some of the games. More->

NEWS - Mountain Lake PBS

During the Spring 2007 semester, I took a 2 credit course at Mountain Lake PBS. This course gave me more incite into television. This became a rewarding course; a real show stopper, like the PSTV course (CMM 233). I met a lot of great people, in such a rewarding field. Who knows, they could be my next employer? Only time will tell. More->

NEWS - Plattsburgh State Television

I've been a member of Plattsburgh State Television from Spring 2005 until Spring 2007. During Fall 2006 and Spring 2007 I've been the producer for Cardinal Basketball. As being an alumni member of PSTV I have learn a great deal about how television shows work. I've shot, produced and edited many pieces for shows on Plattsburgh State Television. As an alumni member of PSTV, I brought quality programming to the Plattsburgh Community. More->

Protect
TravisNapoleanSmith.com Copyright 2006 - 2010